Special Performance: "Lilacs & Letters"

A single actor alone on a stage, portraying one of America's most influential poets as he processes the assassination of Abraham Lincoln and tends to wounded Civil War soldiers. That’s the compelling premise of the play “Lilacs & Letters" at the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum.

The play is set at the Armory Square Military Hospital in Washington, D.C., in the shadows of an early morning in 1865. Poet Walt Whitman, a hospital volunteer, sits among the sleeping wounded as he reflects on national grief and puts the finishing touches on poetry eulogizing President Lincoln.

The one-act play will be presented several times a week through June. Tickets are free with regular admission to the museum.

Every performance is followed by a chance for the audience to talk to Zaxxson Nation, who wrote the play and portrays Whitman. He will answer questions about Whitman, the war, researching and writing the play or anything else visitors want to ask.

The music for the production was composed by Randy Erwin, another ALPLM actor who is also a talented musician.

While more “Lilacs & Letters” performances will be added later, the current schedule is:

  • Thursday, Feb. 1 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 8 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Friday, Feb. 9 at 10:45 a.m.
  • Wednesday, Feb. 14 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 22 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, Feb. 29 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 7 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 8 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 13 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 19 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, March 21 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Friday, March 22 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, March 26 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, March 28 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 3 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 4 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, April 10 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Monday, April 15 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Friday, April 19 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, April 23 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, April 25 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 2 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Friday, May 3 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 8 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Monday, May 13 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Friday, May 17 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 21 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 30 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Friday, May 31 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 5 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Monday, June 10 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Friday, June 14 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Tuesday, June 18 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 26 at 1:15 p.m.
  • Thursday, June 27 at 1:15 p.m.



Social Links